Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 700r4 No 2nd gear

  1. #1

    700r4 No 2nd gear

    I was wondering how much it would cost to fix a 700 r4 that has lost 2nd gear does the whole trans need to be replaced. any info would be helpful. Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Another Beer, Another Rok Shadetree Mechanic rokcrawlin85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Posts
    161
    if your that far into the rebuild, if you could just replace your second gear clutches and bands, you'd be better off doing the whole thing now and calling it good and done

  3. #3
    (Brent) Senior member NightKrwlr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    7,807
    Quote Originally Posted by mosescase View Post
    I was wondering how much it would cost to fix a 700 r4 that has lost 2nd gear
    call a mechanic or transmission shop...
    When the clutch drops... the bullsh*t stops

    Current:
    2005 EC/LB 2500HD Duramax- 4" fabtech lift, 5" flo pro, EFI live, EGR block, PCV reroute, LBZ turbo mouthpiece, future mods-suncoast stage 5 trans

    Past:
    1988 K5 the Night Krawler
    1990 K5
    1976 Jimmy, 7" susp 3" body, 40" ground hawgs
    1995 2500, SFA HPD44, 14bff, 350/nv4500/np241

  4. #4
    WEll the reason i ask is i found one i want to buy and the guy says that the only thing wrong with it is the trans is miss 2nd it runs but goes form 1st to 3rd gear.

  5. #5
    (Brent) Senior member NightKrwlr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    7,807
    nah you dont wanna get into that
    When the clutch drops... the bullsh*t stops

    Current:
    2005 EC/LB 2500HD Duramax- 4" fabtech lift, 5" flo pro, EFI live, EGR block, PCV reroute, LBZ turbo mouthpiece, future mods-suncoast stage 5 trans

    Past:
    1988 K5 the Night Krawler
    1990 K5
    1976 Jimmy, 7" susp 3" body, 40" ground hawgs
    1995 2500, SFA HPD44, 14bff, 350/nv4500/np241

  6. #6
    why you say that i shouldnt get into that. would it be better to just pass on that or try to replace/rebuild it

  7. #7
    Another Beer, Another Rok Shadetree Mechanic rokcrawlin85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Posts
    161
    depends on your purpose for wanting the newer tranny. if you need one for your k5 now and your k5 has one in it thats not workin so hot you might as well just rebuild the one you have in the k5 now instead of getting into a tranny that you have no history of. could just be working yourself backward with that other tranny

  8. #8
    Sir Procrastinator The man, the myth, the legend Blazer Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    378
    its no fun not having second, you can drive it fine but forget the hills, you can do it but you cant scream up them in second you just have to cruise in third

    and it probably kicks down to first a lot like mine did which is a huge pain

  9. #9
    Get Your Shift Together Knows their $hit transman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    599
    there is no second gear clutches in a 700. the band applies in second, so it could be a broken band(very very rare) or it could be a servo issue. my guess would be that the band is fried, and that there are other issues besides "no second"

  10. #10
    Another Beer, Another Rok Shadetree Mechanic rokcrawlin85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Posts
    161
    good to know about the no clutch thing in 2nd. i did not know that

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •